Dissecting “Want to Want Me”

(Derulo…)          – The singer feels the need to remind us who he is, just in case we forgot. – Arrogance?

It’s too hard to sleep

I got the sheets on the floor

Nothing on me          – well no shit you can’t sleep your blankets are on the floor unless you’re in full pajamas I doubt you’re very warm and comfortable. – Jason is restless because he’s yearning for physical intimacy from a lover.

And I can’t take it no more

It’s a hundred degrees          – That doesn’t make sense because as stated earlier your not covered by blankets or sheets, or having physical contact with someone; both of which would make you warm. So you should be cold, not warm. – Jason is experiencing a burning sensations due to his strong, emotional, want the touch of a woman.

I got one foot out the door

Where are my keys?

‘Cause I gotta leave, yeah          – Jason really wants that pussy! Also, the whole key thing is irresponsible. – He really wants that pussy!

In the back of the cab

I tipped the driver ahead of time          – Financially, that’s irresponsible; you don’t know if they’re a good driver or not. – A display that Jason is so anxious for his lover that he is willing to throw money away just to make it happen. It’s a show of commitment.

Get me there fast

I got your body on my mind

I want it bad           – That’s pretty obvious. -No shit.

Ooh, just the thought of you gets me so high, so high          – You’re probably already there. – Jason is so in love with this person that he receives a sense of euphoria.

Girl, you’re the one I want to want me          – Nah der. – I guess she’s the one and only?

And if you want me, girl, you got me          – No shit, if everything else is to be considered, you’re about ready to have your clothes exploded off of you.

There’s nothin’ I,no, I wouldn’t do, I wouldn’t do          – You could have just said “there’s nothing I wouldn’t do,” but you added the “no” which I’m pretty makes it a triple negative and, therefore, says you do have limitations.

Just to get up next to you

Girl, you’re the one I want to want me

And if you want me, girl, you got me

There’s nothin’ I, no, I wouldn’t do, I wouldn’t do

Just to get up next to you

Just to get up next to you

You open the door

Wearing nothing but a smile, fell to the floor           – Who and or what fell to the floor, did you fall to the floor? If so get that tongue out and get crackin’. Did her smile fall to the floor? In that case, she’s either an alien or she’s melting. – Ooh, la la.

And you whisper in my ear, “Baby, I’m yours.” We’re up all night to the sun, We’re up all night to get some, We’re up all night for good fun, We’re up all night to get lucky.

Ooh, just the thought of you gets me so high, so high

Girl, you’re the one I want to want me

And if you want me, girl, you got me

There’s nothin’ I,no, I wouldn’t do, I wouldn’t do

Just to get up next to you

Girl, you’re the one I want to want me

And if you want me, girl, you got me

There’s nothin’ I,no, I wouldn’t do, I wouldn’t do

Just to get up next to you

Just to get up next to you

Just the thought of you gets me so high, so high

Ooh, just the thought of you gets me so high, so high

Girl, you’re the one I want to want me

And if you want me, girl, you got me

There’s nothin’ I, no, I wouldn’t do, I wouldn’t do

Just to get up next to you

Girl, you’re the one I want to want me

And if you want me, girl, you got me

There’s nothin’ I,no, I wouldn’t do, I wouldn’t do

Just to get up next you (I would do anything)

Just to get up next you (anything and everything)

Just to get up next to you (baby)

Just to get up next to you

Get up, get up!          – Jason feels the need to repeat this a thousand times just in case we didn’t understand how horny he is.

Meaning Conclusion:

Jason wants, nae, needs that pussy.

Leave a Reply

