Daily Journal Challenge: 02/24/17

Prompt: Would you lie in court in order to save a friend?

 

Answer:

My answer completely depends on the context of the trial. If all reasoning and scientific evidence points to them committing a serious crime, then no. If it the trial were over a petty crime, then I most likely would lie. If I the arguments and evidence left the answer ambiguous then I most likely wouldn’t lie and would simply comply. Keep in mind that if I’m caught lying under oath that I risk the possibility of going to prison for five years (at worst). There are just too many variables based on the context of the crime and my own sense of just and integrity to say definitively yes or no on such a broad question.

Leave a Reply

